Friday Fictioneers: Thunderheads

Thunderheads

“What do you see?”

Cumulonimbus capillatus. Thunderheads.”

“That’s not what I meant. Be creative. Ducks, castles, that kind of thing.”

“Please explain, sir.”

“You’re supposed to invent things. Their children imagine shapes in the clouds that resemble objects or animals. It’s a game. I’ll demonstrate. See that bulge over there?”

“Yes, sir.”

“It looks like a flying saucer.”

“It is a flying saucer, sir. That’s our ship.”

The commander sighed. “You’re right. I struggle with the local customs too.”

“Sir?”

“Yes?”

“It’s a shame, isn’t it? What we’re about to do?”

“Exterminating them? If it bothers you, pretend they’re ducks.”

Today’s post was written for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’s weekly “Friday Fictioneers” flash fiction event. The challenge is to write a 100-word story based off of a photo prompt. I hope you enjoy! I always love receiving constructive criticism, so feel free to let me know what you think.

32 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Thunderheads

  1. Well done! I laughed out loud in the end. I love that the dialog is so innocent and cute then we learn their intent. Excellent work.

    ~Chris

    1. Thank you so much! I was pretty happy with how this one turned out. Sometimes I really struggle to crank out 100 words, but for some reason, this one just came out in a few minutes. What’s up with that?! I think my brain’s wired funny.

  2. I hope somebody saves the day! normally “adorable story” and “of our imminent destruction” would never go together but in this case they do!

  3. A great story – fabulous idea – especially the reveal of the twist – it is only close to the end we realise what they are and then, double wham! What they are about to do! Genius!

Leave a Reply

