All the Updates!

Yes, THAT Rachael K. Jones! (Photo credit: Penumbra)

Hello, hello, blogosphere! It’s been a couple months since my last update, and that’s because I’ve been busy with some exciting things!

The first big announcement: You probably guessed it from the photo above, but I made my first pro fiction sale a couple of weeks ago to Penumbra! My story, “Photon Girl Ascending,” is forthcoming in their May Superheroes-themed issue. I’m very excited about this, since it’s a big benchmark in my writing career, and I have been learning a lot in the process. I have also been invited to write a guest post for the Penumbra blog. I’ll be sure to link it for you when it goes live.

And if that wasn’t enough, a week later, I made my second pro sale to Daily Science Fiction! I haven’t yet gotten the scheduled release date for this story yet, but I’ll talk more about that when I have details. If you’d like, click over their site now and subscribe (it’s free!) to receive a story in your inbox every day.

I have much to say about both these stories, but I’ll say a few more words about them once they have been published, along with links so you can enjoy them firsthand.

I plan to do some more blogging in the near future, too, but probably won’t get back into a good schedule for another 3-4 weeks (because things are really busy right now). But when I return, it will be with a full blog tune-up, just in time for the one-year anniversary of this blog. I will be updating everything across the site and adding some new features (such as a bibliography!). I also have some interesting new stories to tell you, both fictional and factual.

What have you been up to in the past few weeks? What’s been happening on your blog?

7 thoughts on “All the Updates!

  1. Congratulations, Rachael on your sales to Penumbra and Daily Science Fiction 🙂

    I did wonder what happened, as you dropped off the grid. Good to have you back 🙂

    1. Thank you so much, Eric! And sorry for just falling off the radar like that. Life has been so busy (in a good way) that I’ve had trouble keeping up with all the things I love to do. But the great thing about both work and school being on a school calendar is that I can always get my act together when summer rolls around!

  2. That’s awesome, Rachael! Many congrats to you.

    By the way, if you could tell the folks at DSF to fix their subscription sign-up box, that would awesome. I’ve tried to subscribe several times over the past few months and never had it take.

    1. Thank you so much, Loren! I’m excited. I’m really excited. 😀

      Have you checked your Spam box? I know their emails are infamous for going to Spam, unless you add them to your Contacts first (guess where my acceptance letter went…?) 🙂

Leave a Reply

